Holacracy

Where the method comes from

The Holacracy system was developed by Ternary Software in Pennylvania. Its founder, Brian Robertson, experimented with democratic governance and collected good practices in a system called the Holocracy Constitution, which was named Holocracy in 2007.

This is central

Holacracy is a system of self-administration of organisations. It replaces hierarchy with a peer-to-peer system to increase transparency, accountability and organisational flexibility.

In a traditional organisation, employees have fixed, well-defined functions. These functions form the organisation of the company. In a holacratic system the structure of the organisation is made up of self-organised circles with a certain scope and purpose. The employees integrated in these circles can take on several roles and can easily change roles if necessary. Once an employee has been assigned to a role and has accepted it, he or she is responsible for considering possible next actions that he or she could perform efficiently and effectively, and for performing the action that he or she believes would bring the greatest value to the organisation [Ref 1][2].

The basic concepts of holacracy


Purpose: defines the ideal target for a role and for a circle.


Area of responsibility: defines the things that are controlled and regulated by the role or circle. Adjustments in the domain of a circle are possible by everyone, but require the approval of the role responsible for the domain.


Accountabilities: defines all activities that the role or circle must perform in order to work together effectively and efficiently.


Role: has a purpose, area of responsibility and accountability. Qualified personnel for performing a particular role are identified. Employees can assume several roles. Roles develop when gaps between the reality and potential of the role are identified.


The circle: integrates several roles and has a clearly defined purpose and area of responsibility. A circle can include a specific project, product department, business unit or general function of the organisation. Circles organise themselves internally in an autonomous way to serve their objectives. Each circle has the autonomy to develop the roles, policies and processes necessary to organise and manage its operations in the service of its purpose.
Two roles ensure consistency between the Circles: the primary liaison role, which ensures that the purpose of the Circle is respected by all and that individuals are charged with fulfilling defined roles within the Circle; and the secondary liaison role, which ensures consistency with the mission and strategy of the larger organisation.


Governance process: is a structured process that enables autonomous teams to make decisions: what roles are needed, who has to perform these roles to achieve objectives, who has autonomy in each role and what responsibilities, how decisions are made. A structure is created to ensure that decisions reflect the needs of the company and not the preferences or ego of the people.


Policy: (if necessary) who defines the constraints acting on the circle.
The language used in Holacratics encourages new ways of thinking about the organisation. For example, the holacracy speaks of the role that each person fulfils, not of what each person is, of responsibility rather than obligation, of the integration of perspectives, not of the discussion of opinions, of descriptive role names, not of vice presidents or other status-based titles [Ref 3]. The aim is to strengthen a collective consciousness in everyone.


Our perspective

The management of the company will be redistributed among the teams (circles), with feedback and control guaranteed by the double link between the circles.
The transition from a company with a traditional structure to a holacratic structure is not easy. Each and every person bears responsibility for the company and therefore for its successes, but also for its failures. Both managers and employees must change their way of thinking. The transition is an evolutionary process that requires time and learning. Before embarking on the adventure, you should ask yourself at the beginning what you want to achieve and why. It is not necessary to change the whole company. Perhaps some areas that require a high degree of mobility are better suited to a holacratic system than others.

We use cookies and other tracking technologies to personalize and improve your experience. By continuing to use our website you consent to this.More info

Holacracy

Woher die Methode kommt

Das Holacracy-System wurde von Ternary Software in Pennylvania entwickelt. Ihr Gründer Brian Robertson experimentierte mit demokratischer Regierungsführung und sammelte gute Praktiken in einem System namens Holocracy Constitution, das 2007 den Namen Holocracy erhielt.

Das ist zentral

Holakratie ist ein System zur Selbstverwaltung von Organisationen. Es ersetzt die Hierarchie durch ein Peer-to-Peer-System um Transparenz, Verantwortlichkeit und organisatorische Flexibilität zu erhöhen.

In einer traditionellen Organisation haben die Mitarbeitenden feste, genau definierte Funktionen. Diese Funktionen bilden die Organisation des Unternehmens. In einem holakratischen System setzt sich die Struktur der Organisation aus selbstorganisierten Kreisen mit einem bestimmten Umfang und einem bestimmten Ziel zusammen. Die in diesen Kreisen integrierten Mitarbeitenden können mehrere Rollen übernehmen und bei Bedarf leicht die Rolle wechseln. Sobald ein Mitarbeitender einer Rolle zugewiesen wurde und diese akzeptiert hat, ist er oder sie dafür verantwortlich, mögliche nächste Aktionen zu erwägen, die er oder sie effizient und effektiv durchführen könnte, und die Aktion auszuführen, von der er oder sie glaubt, dass sie den grössten Wert für die Organisation bringen würde [Ref 1][2].

Die Grundbegriffe der Holacratie

Zweck: definiert das ideale Ziel für eine Rolle und für einen Kreis.


Verantwortungsbereich: definiert die Dinge, die von der Rolle oder dem Kreis kontrolliert und geregelt werden. Anpassungen in der Domäne eines Kreises sind von allen möglich, erfordern jedoch die Zustimmung der für die Domäne verantwortlichen Rolle.


Accountabilities: definiert alle Aktivitäten, die die Rolle oder der Kreis durchführen muss, um effektiv und effizient zusammenarbeiten zu können.


Rolle: hat einen Zweck, einen Verantwortungsbereich und Rechenschaftspflicht. Qualifiziertes Personal für die Ausübung einer bestimmten Rolle wird ermittelt. Mitarbeitendende können mehrere Rollen übernehmen. Rollen entwickeln sich, wenn Lücken zwischen der Realität und dem Potenzial der Rolle identifiziert werden.


Der Kreis: integriert mehrere Rollen und hat einen klar definierten Zweck und Verantwortungsbereich. Ein Kreis kann ein bestimmtes Projekt, eine Produktabteilung, einen Geschäftsbereich oder eine allgemeine Funktion der Organisation umfassen. Die Kreise organisieren sich intern in autonomer Weise im Dienste ihrer Ziele. Jeder Kreis hat die Autonomie, die Rollen, Richtlinien und Prozesse zu entwickeln, die notwendig sind, um seine Operationen im Dienste seines Zwecks zu organisieren und zu leiten.
Zwei Rollen gewährleisten die Konsistenz zwischen den Kreisen: die primäre Verbindungsrolle, die sicherstellt, dass der Zweck des Kreises von allen respektiert wird und Einzelpersonen mit der Erfüllung definierter Rollen innerhalb des Kreises beauftragt werden; und die sekundäre Verbindungsrolle, welche die Übereinstimmung mit dem Auftrag und der Strategie der grösseren Organisation sicherstellt.


Governance-Prozess: ist ein strukturierter Prozess, der es autonomen Teams ermöglicht, Entscheidungen zu treffen: welche Rollen werden benötigt, wer muss diese Rollen ausführen, um Ziele zu erreichen, wer hat Autonomie in jeder Rolle und welche Verantwortlichkeiten, wie werden Entscheidungen getroffen. Es wird eine Struktur geschaffen, die gewährleistet, dass die Entscheidungen die Bedürfnisse des Unternehmens widerspiegeln und nicht die Vorlieben oder das Ego der Menschen.


Politik: (falls erforderlich) wer definiert die auf den Kreis wirkenden Zwänge.
Die in der Holakratie verwendete Sprache ermutigt zu neuen Denkweisen über die Organisation. Zum Beispiel spricht die Holakratie von der Rolle, die jede Person erfüllt, nicht von dem, was jede Person ist, von Verantwortung statt Verpflichtung, von der Integration von Perspektiven, nicht von der Diskussion von Meinungen, von beschreibenden Rollennamen, nicht von Vizepräsidenten oder anderen statusbasierten Titeln [Ref 3]. Ziel ist es, ein kollektives Bewusstsein in allen zu stärken.


Wir verwenden Cookies, um Inhalte und Anzeigen zu personalisieren und die Zugriffe auf unsere Website zu analysieren.Mehr erfahren